IBBY Announces Winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award > IBBY소식

본문 바로가기


IBBY Announces Winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award

작성자 KBBY사무국
작성일 2018-03-27 21:20 | 조회 776 | 댓글 0


IBBY Announces Winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award #IBBYHCA18
26 March 2018
Patricia Aldana, Chair of the Jury for the Hans Christian Andersen Award of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) today announced the winners of the 2018 IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award considered to be the children's Nobel. IBBY is very grateful to Nami Island Inc. in the Republic of Korea for their sponsorship of this prestigious award.

The 2018 winners are:
Eiko Kadono of Japan for Writing and Igor Oleynikov of Russia for Illustration
Eiko Kadono from Japan
There is an ineffable charm, compassion, and élan in the work of this great Japanese author. Whether in her many marvellous and funny picture books, or her great series of novels about the witch Kiki, or her novel set during World War II about a brave girl who must walk through a terrifying tunnel of trees to get to school, Kadono's books are always surprising, engaging, and empowering. And almost always fun. And always life affirming.
Although, Kadono has travelled widely throughout the world, her stories are deeply rooted in Japan and show us a Japan that is filled with all kinds of unexpected people. Her female characters are singularly self-determining and enterprising; figuring out how to cope with all kinds of complications without suffering too many self-doubts -- though some of these do creep in. As such, they are perfect for this time when we are all seeking girls and women in books who can inspire and delight us with their agency. The language in her picture books is notable for its playfulness and use of onomatopoeia. And of course, the beautiful, but simple language in her novels makes them extremely readable.
Igor Oleynikov from Russia
This exceptional illustrator can bring the page alive in a way that must be the envy of his peers. Coming from an early career as an animator, Oleynikov is a master of design and composition. Furthermore, he brings an extraordinary cast of characters to life -- from young boys and girls, to witches and giants, to wolves and sharks, to fairies and trolls, to Joshua and Ruth from the Old Testament, to even a brilliant tiny mouse who goes to Harvard! Though he claims not to like illustrating 'cute' children, he is more than capable of creating beauty -- in his landscapes and in his characters. Beautiful or not, human or not, they burst with life, movement and expression.
Oleynikov brings the great Russian artistic vocabulary, style and passion to his work. He frequently illustrates the Russian masters, Pushkin, Gogol, Trotsky, Brodsky, bringing them to life and to our contemporary sensibility. His versions of the classics are always original and surprising, never obvious or what one might expect. He is equally brilliant with Andersen, Grimm, the Old Testament, and Lear. While he excels at the short form -- poems, stories, traditional tales, he can also create fabulous picture books. His talent knows no bounds.
The jury would like to emphasize the high quality of many of the submissions, especially those on the shortlist. In light of this, the jury chose to create a list of fifteen outstanding books, which they read in the course of their work that they consider to be of the highest quality and should be very widely translated. The first criteria for the selection of the shortlist and the winners was the artistic excellence of the writing and of the art. Of great importance to the jury was the author or illustrator's ability to connect to children - the use of voice; the credibility of the child's world; the ability of children worldwide to connect to the work even if it was very culturally specific and authentic to the creator and her or his culture. The jurors were also interested to explore the willingness to take creative risks. But ultimately, the selection of these shortlisted authors and illustrators, the winners, and of the fifteen books that the jurors recommend for worldwide translation, was the belief that these works should be read by children all over the world, be accessible and meaningful to them, and enrich their lives and understanding -- build bridges in a time when so many are being broken.
The 2018 Shortlist comprises:
Marie-Aude Murail from France
Farhad Hassanzadeh from Iran
Joy Cowley from New Zealand
Ulf Stark from Sweden, who very sadly passed away last summer.

Pablo Bernasconi from Argentina
Linda Wolfsgruber from Austria
Xiong Liang from China
Iwona Chmielewska from Poland
Albertine from Switzerland
The Jurors in alphabetical order by country:
Lola Rubio (Argentina) - an editor and librarian
Yasmine Motawy (Egypt) - a professor of children's literature
Eva Kaliskami (Greece) - a teacher
Yasuko Doi (Japan) - an international children's librarian 
Shereen Kreidieh (Lebanon) - a children's publisher
Denis Beznosov (Russia) - an international children's librarian
Andrej Ilc (Slovenia) - a publisher of adult and children's books
Reina Duarte (Spain) - a children's publisher
María Beatriz Medina (Venezuela) - director of the Banco del Libro and a professor
Junko Yokota (USA) - a children's literature specialist

The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) is a non-profit organization that represents an international network of people from all over the world who are committed to bringing books and children together.  It represents countries with well-developed book publishing and literacy programmes, and other countries with only a few dedicated professionals who are doing pioneer work in children's book publishing and promotion.

For more information, full biographies of the winners and information about IBBY, go to www.ibby.org


댓글목록 0

등록된 댓글이 없습니다.

IBBY소식 목록

Total 182
IBBY소식 목록
번호 제목 글쓴이 날짜 조회
32 텍스트 Invitation to 4th IBBY Africa Regional Conference and Book F… KBBY사무국장 03-13 912
31 텍스트 IBBY Press Conference 2017 / 3 April 2017, Bologna Children'… KBBY사무국장 03-14 898
30 텍스트 IBBY European Newsletter November 2016 KBBY사무국장 12-14 897
29 텍스트 언론소식) 2018 ‘한스 크리스티안 안데르센상(Hans Christian Andersen Awards)’ … KBBY사무국 03-30 896
28 파일첨부 IBBY Australia newsletter 임정진 05-28 887
27 파일첨부 [국제소식-Conference] The Language of Images in Children's Lite… KBBY사무국 09-23 881
26 텍스트 1st IBBY European Regional Conference KBBY사무국장 03-14 878
25 텍스트 IBBY Armenia book presentation KBBY사무국장 03-17 865
24 텍스트 해외소식) 오이대왕의 작가 크리스티네 뇌스틀링거(81) 별세- 명복을 빕니다. KBBY사무국장 07-16 857
23 텍스트 New York 2018: the new professional trade show KBBY사무국장 03-27 854
22 텍스트 [IBBY 국제소식] IBBY 국제 프로젝트 KBBY사무국 04-12 826
21 파일첨부 Lampedusa Camp 2018 call for volunteers KBBY사무국장 02-12 781
열람중 텍스트 IBBY Announces Winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen A… KBBY사무국 03-27 777
19 텍스트 IBBY Announces the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Jury KBBY사무국 10-10 777
18 텍스트 [지역총회안내] 유럽IBBY 지역총회 볼로냐 4월 4일 KBBY사무국 03-12 770
게시물 검색


  • 길벗어린이
  • 보림출판사
  • 봄봄
  • 비룡소
  • 책읽는곰
  • 문학동네
  • 시공주니어
  • 봄볕
  • 루덴스
  • 초방책방
  • 북극곰
  • 그림책공작소
  • 사계절
  • 그림책도시
  • 대한독서문화예술협회
  • 국립어린이청소년도서관
  • 여유당
  • 크레용하우스
  • 한국열린사이버대학교
  • 마포푸르매도서관
  • 샘터사
  • 휴먼인러브
  • 보리
  • 소원나무
  • 키다리
  • 웃는돌고래
  • 이야기꽃도서관
  • 서울독서교육연구회
  • 방정환연구소
  • 고래뱃속
  • 한솔수북
  • 아시안허브
  • 한국어린이교육학회
  • 킨더랜드
  • 두근두근그림책연구소
  • 키위북스
  • 노란돼지
  • 현암사
  • 스틸로
  • 북뱅크
  • 빨간콩
  • 스푼북
  • 애플트리테일즈
  • 봄개울

KBBY 국제아동청소년도서협의회
(Korean Board on Books for Young people)

KBBY는 문화체육관광부 출판인쇄산업과 비영리민간단체로 등록되어 있습니다
[등록번호 2011-7호]

사무국 전화: 010-5815-6632 / 사무국 이메일 : kbby1995@naver.com