IBBY Announces Winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award > IBBY소식

본문 바로가기


IBBY Announces Winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award

작성자 KBBY사무국
작성일 2018-03-27 21:20 | 조회 483 | 댓글 0


IBBY Announces Winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award #IBBYHCA18
26 March 2018
Patricia Aldana, Chair of the Jury for the Hans Christian Andersen Award of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) today announced the winners of the 2018 IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award considered to be the children's Nobel. IBBY is very grateful to Nami Island Inc. in the Republic of Korea for their sponsorship of this prestigious award.

The 2018 winners are:
Eiko Kadono of Japan for Writing and Igor Oleynikov of Russia for Illustration
Eiko Kadono from Japan
There is an ineffable charm, compassion, and élan in the work of this great Japanese author. Whether in her many marvellous and funny picture books, or her great series of novels about the witch Kiki, or her novel set during World War II about a brave girl who must walk through a terrifying tunnel of trees to get to school, Kadono's books are always surprising, engaging, and empowering. And almost always fun. And always life affirming.
Although, Kadono has travelled widely throughout the world, her stories are deeply rooted in Japan and show us a Japan that is filled with all kinds of unexpected people. Her female characters are singularly self-determining and enterprising; figuring out how to cope with all kinds of complications without suffering too many self-doubts -- though some of these do creep in. As such, they are perfect for this time when we are all seeking girls and women in books who can inspire and delight us with their agency. The language in her picture books is notable for its playfulness and use of onomatopoeia. And of course, the beautiful, but simple language in her novels makes them extremely readable.
Igor Oleynikov from Russia
This exceptional illustrator can bring the page alive in a way that must be the envy of his peers. Coming from an early career as an animator, Oleynikov is a master of design and composition. Furthermore, he brings an extraordinary cast of characters to life -- from young boys and girls, to witches and giants, to wolves and sharks, to fairies and trolls, to Joshua and Ruth from the Old Testament, to even a brilliant tiny mouse who goes to Harvard! Though he claims not to like illustrating 'cute' children, he is more than capable of creating beauty -- in his landscapes and in his characters. Beautiful or not, human or not, they burst with life, movement and expression.
Oleynikov brings the great Russian artistic vocabulary, style and passion to his work. He frequently illustrates the Russian masters, Pushkin, Gogol, Trotsky, Brodsky, bringing them to life and to our contemporary sensibility. His versions of the classics are always original and surprising, never obvious or what one might expect. He is equally brilliant with Andersen, Grimm, the Old Testament, and Lear. While he excels at the short form -- poems, stories, traditional tales, he can also create fabulous picture books. His talent knows no bounds.
The jury would like to emphasize the high quality of many of the submissions, especially those on the shortlist. In light of this, the jury chose to create a list of fifteen outstanding books, which they read in the course of their work that they consider to be of the highest quality and should be very widely translated. The first criteria for the selection of the shortlist and the winners was the artistic excellence of the writing and of the art. Of great importance to the jury was the author or illustrator's ability to connect to children - the use of voice; the credibility of the child's world; the ability of children worldwide to connect to the work even if it was very culturally specific and authentic to the creator and her or his culture. The jurors were also interested to explore the willingness to take creative risks. But ultimately, the selection of these shortlisted authors and illustrators, the winners, and of the fifteen books that the jurors recommend for worldwide translation, was the belief that these works should be read by children all over the world, be accessible and meaningful to them, and enrich their lives and understanding -- build bridges in a time when so many are being broken.
The 2018 Shortlist comprises:
Marie-Aude Murail from France
Farhad Hassanzadeh from Iran
Joy Cowley from New Zealand
Ulf Stark from Sweden, who very sadly passed away last summer.

Pablo Bernasconi from Argentina
Linda Wolfsgruber from Austria
Xiong Liang from China
Iwona Chmielewska from Poland
Albertine from Switzerland
The Jurors in alphabetical order by country:
Lola Rubio (Argentina) - an editor and librarian
Yasmine Motawy (Egypt) - a professor of children's literature
Eva Kaliskami (Greece) - a teacher
Yasuko Doi (Japan) - an international children's librarian 
Shereen Kreidieh (Lebanon) - a children's publisher
Denis Beznosov (Russia) - an international children's librarian
Andrej Ilc (Slovenia) - a publisher of adult and children's books
Reina Duarte (Spain) - a children's publisher
María Beatriz Medina (Venezuela) - director of the Banco del Libro and a professor
Junko Yokota (USA) - a children's literature specialist

The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) is a non-profit organization that represents an international network of people from all over the world who are committed to bringing books and children together.  It represents countries with well-developed book publishing and literacy programmes, and other countries with only a few dedicated professionals who are doing pioneer work in children's book publishing and promotion.

For more information, full biographies of the winners and information about IBBY, go to www.ibby.org


댓글목록 0

등록된 댓글이 없습니다.

IBBY소식 목록

Total 173
IBBY소식 목록
번호 제목 글쓴이 날짜 조회
173 텍스트 [IBBY국제소식] 제 4회 아시아 오세아니아 IBBY 지역 총회 KBBY사무국 07-22 32
172 텍스트 [국제소식] IBBY 아시아 지역 총회 KBBY사무국 07-05 64
171 텍스트 [IBBY] Season's Greetings from IBBY Greece KBBY사무국 04-22 205
170 텍스트 [IBBY 국제소식] IBBY 국제 프로젝트 KBBY사무국 04-12 256
169 텍스트 [국제소식] Bart Moeyaert | Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2019… KBBY사무국 04-05 403
168 텍스트 [IBBY 국제소식] Silent Book Contest 2019 Finalists KBBY사무국 04-05 461
167 텍스트 [IBBY 국제소식] BOLOGNA: IBBY PRESS CONFERENCE 2019 -2020 안데르센 … KBBY사무국 04-05 270
166 텍스트 Launch of the UN SDG Book Club KBBY사무국 03-20 207
165 파일첨부 IBBY Press Conference Bologna 2019 KBBY사무국 03-20 309
164 텍스트 [지역총회안내] 유럽IBBY 지역총회 볼로냐 4월 4일 KBBY사무국 03-12 247
163 텍스트 [도서안내]미국 도서관 저널이 선정한 우수 해외어린이책-usbby KBBY사무국 01-28 367
162 텍스트 [지역총회]IBBY 아시아오세아니아 지역 총회 일정 KBBY사무국 01-28 284
161 텍스트 IBBY 2019 어린이책의날 포스터(리투아니아 디자인) 댓글1 임정진 01-17 504
160 텍스트 [IBBY] IBBY세계총회 일정 KBBY사무국 11-27 367
159 텍스트 IBBY Announces the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Jury KBBY사무국 10-10 424
게시물 검색


  • 길벗어린이
  • 논장
  • 마루벌
  • 보림출판사
  • 봄봄
  • 비룡소
  • 책읽는곰
  • 문학동네 출판그룹
  • 미래엔
  • 웅진주니어
  • 시공주니어
  • 봄볕
  • 루덴스
  • 초방책방
  • 도서출판 산하
  • 바람의아이들
  • 토토북
  • 행복한아침독서
  • 느림보
  • 북극곰
  • 그림책공작소
  • 사계절
  • 그림책도시
  • 뜨인돌어린이
  • 대한독서문화예술협회
  • 국립어린이청소년도서관
  • 여유당
  • 크레용하우스
  • 한국열린사이버대학교
  • 마포푸르매도서관
  • 샘터사
  • 휴먼인러브
  • 보리
  • 소원나무
  • 동시마중
  • 상출판사
  • 주니어김영사
  • 키다리
  • 웃는돌고래
  • 이야기꽃도서관
  • 노미숙그림책교육상담연구소
  • 서울독서교육연구회
  • 풀빛
  • 순천그림책도서관
  • 방정환연구소
  • 고래뱃속
  • 한솔수북
  • 아시안허브

KBBY 국제아동청소년도서협의회
(Korean Board on Books for Young people)

KBBY는 문화체육관광부 출판인쇄산업과 비영리민간단체로 등록되어 있습니다
[등록번호 2011-7호]

사무국 전화: 010-5815-6632 / 사무국 이메일 : kbby1995@naver.com